Answered by Natural Candy Store, September 7, 2018 at 09:07:50 AM EDT.
A: Hello! Thanks for contacting us! :) We asked the manufacturer your question about Halloween Organic Candy Corn and they said the following: "There is a trace amount of corn in all YumEarth items except in Organic Candy Corn (ironically enough!), and the following flavors of hard candies: Wild Peppermint, Cheeky Lemon, Pomegranate Pucker and Roadside Rootbeer." Hope this helps!
Asked by Tamara, September 14, 2018 at 06:52:16 PM EDT.
Q: Can you expand on what the shellac ingredient is or is derived from? Thanks!
Answered by Natural Candy Store, September 19, 2018 at 09:31:51 AM EDT.
A: Hello! Thanks for your question! Shellac is used as a glaze to make the candy corn look smooth and slightly shiny. It is produced by the female lac insect. She produces a resin to cocoon the eggs she lays. When the eggs hatch and the insects leave the cocoon, it is then harvested to produce shellac. Some consider Shellac to be vegetarian (ie: The Vegetarian Society Approved team only accredit shellac companies that can demonstrate the quality of their lac beetle husbandry). However, shellac is not considered vegan (since it comes from a living creature). Hope this helps!
- Click the arrow or text to reveal answers.
- Customer service representatives.
- Verified purchasers of this product.