Answered by Natural Candy Store, January 5, 2018 at 11:28:16 AM EST.
A: Hello and thank you for your question about the Mahalo Candy Bar. An FDA consumer update explains that products that are labeled and categorized as vegan may not be safe for consumption for individuals with severe dairy allergies, as they may contain trace amounts of dairy protein. According to this study, a product labeled vegan, unfortunately, may have very small trace amounts of dairy protein in it, unbeknownst to the manufacturer or retailer. With current production standards, there is no way to know unless the manufacturer does batch-testing on the product. The allergen statement explains that any traces of dairy protein would be unintention and is provided by the manufacturer to protect individuals who are allergic to dairy protein. We hope that in the future, "trace amount" ingredients will be managed more thoroughly by the FDA, but until then we prefer to be "better safe than sorry" when it comes to allergens. We know how serious they can be!
- Click the arrow or text to reveal answers.
- Customer service representatives.
- Verified purchasers of this product.