Asked by Anonymous, March 7, 2014 at 07:49:25 AM EST.
Q: What is the confectioners glaze made out of. My boy has more allergies than just the "top 8" and I need to know what's in that. I'm sure other customers would like to know as well because there are huge variations in the "outside" candy world that it could be. Ranging from animal gelatins to corn syrup to all kinds of things.
Answered by Irene, March 7, 2014 at 09:10:59 PM EST.
The confectioners glaze is composed of lac resin and alcohol (derived from corn).
Please let us know if you have any additional questions.
Asked by Anonymous, February 11, 2015 at 09:05:56 PM EST.
Q: This is going to sound stupid and gross but, I read somewhere that on most jelly beans the shellac or outer coating his made from beetle. I want to but these for my wife, but want to make sure these do not have beetle matter as an ingredient. Please advise
Answered by Natural Candy Store, February 12, 2015 at 08:12:23 PM EST.
A: Hi Anonymous, Confectioner's glaze is an ingredient used in many candies, including jelly beans. A small amount is used to make them shiny. Confectioner's glaze does contain shellac, which is made by the lac bug. For this reason we don't classify items that contain confectioner's glaze as vegan. Shellac is not a waste product of the bug, as you suggested, but rather a substance it produces and deposits on tree branches (similar to bees and bees wax). If you want to avoid eating shellac, look out for "confectioner's glaze" on ingredients lists. We provide as much information as possible about the products we carry, including complete ingredients for each item, so our customers can decide which products work for them.
P.S. We agree one of the words in your question was kind of gross so we just left that word out and it seems like your question still makes sense. Hope you don't mind!
Asked by Ginnine, March 28, 2015 at 11:12:29 PM EDT.
Your response to the first question about the glaze was very thorough, but I just wanted to be sure and ask again: is this product gluten free/casein free?
Answered by Natural Candy Store, March 30, 2015 at 04:06:19 PM EDT.
A: Hi Ginnine, The Organic Jelly Beans are definitely GFCF! Let us know if you have any other questions. :-)
Asked by Blue, April 27, 2015 at 02:08:37 PM EDT.
Q: Just two simple questions, does all of your candy like these jelly beans have any trace of meat like pork or beef? And are they kosher as well? I don't like kosher, pork, or beef in my candy. :(
Answered by Natural Candy Store, April 27, 2015 at 03:45:33 PM EDT.
A: Hi Blue,
We carry only a few items that contain gelatin which is the only source of pork or beef in candy and would be clearly listed in the ingredients as "gelatin". The majority of the candies on our site (including these jelly beans) do not contain gelatin. These jelly beans are not Kosher.
Let us know if you have any additional questions!
Asked by Bridget Calvery, February 29, 2016 at 11:06:41 AM EST.
Q: Hi do any of the ingredients have corn or corn derivatives and if so what are they please?
Answered by Natural Candy Store, March 1, 2016 at 03:50:03 PM EST.
A: Hi Bridget, all Surf Sweets jelly beans and gummy items are actually made in corn starch molds, so they may have traces of cornstarch (please see the "Misc. info:" section on the Ingredients tab on each product page). In addition some of the natural flavors may contain corn-derived ingredients, such as alcohol made from corn.
Asked by Anonymous, March 10, 2016 at 09:38:52 PM EST.
Q: Why is the 12-pack containing 12, 2.75 oz bags (total 33 oz) $21.21 which is 64.3 cents per oz., while the 8 oz bag of spring mix surf sweets jelly beans are $4.29 which is 53.6 cents per oz.? how can buying a large bulk box of 12 bags be way more expensive than a small bag? It just doesn't make sense...
Answered by Natural Candy Store, March 11, 2016 at 04:04:02 PM EST.
A: Hi! It's normal for smaller package sizes to be more expensive per oz than larger package sizes, for a variety of reasons (more packaging, more labor to manufacture and manage them, to encourage ordering large sizes). Please note that the jelly beans your're comparing are actually different products inside and that the Spring Mix is not available in 2.75 oz while the Original is not available in 8oz. Also, for any pricing comparison it would be important to compare the regular, non-sale prices. Not being the manufacturer, we can't speak to the reasoning for the different sizes. However, all the 2.75 oz Surf Sweets items are priced the same - so maybe we have the 8 oz Spring Mix priced too low! We are looking at that now :) Will likely raise Spring Mix to at least $4.50. Spring Mix is very yummy - another reason to order them while they are cheaper! You'll still find the best savings on the true bulk 10 lb. cases at 45.5 cents per oz. Please let us know if you have any other questions!
Asked by Erin, March 14, 2017 at 10:33:56 AM EDT.
Q: What is the natural flavor and citric acid derived from? My concern is that they are derived from soy.
Answered by Natural Candy Store, March 23, 2017 at 07:12:30 PM EDT.
A: Hi Erin, Surf Sweets is an allergy-friendly brand, and none of the ingredients in their products contain or are derived from soy. The citric acid is made form cane sugar. We don't know all the components of the flavors, but they are soy-free.
- Click the arrow or text to reveal answers.
- Customer service representatives.
- Verified purchasers of this product.