Answered by Irene, October 16, 2014 at 05:42:44 PM EDT.
A: Hi Sammi,
This item does not contain milk ingredients and is manufactured in a vegan facility that does not process milk, eggs, or any other animal products. However, it may not be suitable for people with a severe reaction (e.g. anaphylaxis) to milk since the chocolate is sourced from an ingredient supplier that processes both dark and milk chocolate. It is at this stage, before the chocolate arrives at Sjaak's facility, that there is a risk of milk protein cross-contamination. Ingredient processors should, of course, be following good manufacturing practices to segregate any allergens. However, those with severe allergies often try to avoid products that are made in facilities that also process the ingredient they're allergic to.
Please note: Many vegan products are made in facilities that also process non-vegan ingredients. It's great that Sjaak's has a dedicated vegan facility and we appreciate their transparency in sharing the information about their chocolate supply chain.
Let us know if you have any additional questions!
Asked by GK, April 8, 2017 at 08:37:50 PM EDT.
Q: I am severely allergic to corn and corn products. Can you be sure that corn products are not used in the process of the evaporated cane juice and that the vanilla is not made from corny alcohol?
Answered by Natural Candy Store, April 12, 2017 at 11:23:43 PM EDT.
A: Hi GK, The maker of the Vegan "Milk" Chocolate Caramel Bites uses whole vanilla beans with no alcohol in their chocolate. We have not heard of corn products being used during the processing of sugar - please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org with any additional information about this (the more details we have, the better luck we have getting answers) and we'll be happy to research further.
- Click the arrow or text to reveal answers.
- Customer service representatives.
- Verified purchasers of this product.